Events

Meet John Bevington, the favoured potter son, 1837-1891.
David W. Smith will stream, live, a lightening tour of the real life of a Victorian Potter living and competing globally in a fast moving, expanding trade.

He was apprenticed to Messrs. Minton and Co. in Stoke-upon-Trent, one of Europe’s leading ceramic factories during the Victorian era.

John’s father chose to work with John, rather than his 6 other potter sons. His early career saw him partnering with father, his father-in-law, Thomas Worthington, John Bailey and Lewis Bradley in 2 different manufactories before he consolidated in the Kensington Works in 1872.

Pioneering developments of trade included
• Sales of stock by auctioneers, rather than agents.
• Advertising and branding in trade journals
• The creation of a price-list and mail order
• Innovative patents and registered designs
• The latest potting mechanisations
• Good industrial relations

David will give a lightening tour of the real life of a Victorian Potter living and competing globally in a fast moving, expanding trade.

This will be broadcast on the Author on the Potteries YouTube channel.

SUBSCRIBE TODAY at https://www.youtube.com/@DavidWSmith

February 16, 2023 / 6:00 PM GMT, 1.00 pm EST, 10.00 am PST

TBA